top of page

Press release issued on Behalf of Harrogate in Bloom

Date: 23 September 2018

Harrogate in Bloom 2018 Competition Awards Afternoon

More than one hundred gardeners, environmentalists and community stalwarts joined Harrogate Mayor, Councillor Bernard Bateman and Harrogate and Knaresborough's Member of Parliament Andrew Jones for Harrogate in Bloom's annual awards afternoon on Sunday, 23 September in the magnificent surroundings of St Wilfrid’s Church.

Throughout the year, this local voluntary group organises a number of competitions to recognise endeavour and to encourage more people to garden, care for the environment or support local community activities.

There’s competitions for allotments, primary school children, communal grounds, private homes, pubs and restaurants, hotels and guest houses and business premises. 

This year there are two new awards.  Best School Garden which went to Rossett School for its Sensory Garden.  The second is a very special award presented to the person who it is considered has made an ‘Outstanding Contribution to Team Harrogate’s in bloom campaign’.  This inaugural award was presented to Jane Blayney Chair of the Friends of the Valley Gardens who under Jane’s stewardship have  just received a third consecutive Platinum Medal in the regional Yorkshire in Bloom Awards.

Pam Grant, President of Harrogate in Bloom and Chair of Team Harrogate congratulates and thanks everyone who took part.  She added: “We had some excellent entries and some welcome new entries including the beautiful small garden at The Fat Badger and the outstanding garden at Rogers Almshouses created to celebrate its 2018 centenary.  Large or small gardens bring enjoyment to everyone but it’s not without hard work!”.

Harrogate in Bloom would also like to thank David Wilson Homes who came on board this year to sponsor the awards afternoon.  And finally to all the bakers who provided the afternoon tea.



Harrogate in Bloom 2018 award winners:

Harrogate in Bloom - President's Trophy
Harlow Hill Allotments

Mayor's Award
Chris Beard

David Wilson Homes - Outstanding Contribution to Team Harrogate’s in bloom campaign
Jane Blayney

Harrogate in Bloom Shield 
The Fat Badger

Harrogate in Bloom Henson Tankard
Alistair Baldwin 

Betty's Trophy - Residential Community
Swan Court

Crowther Memorial Trophy
St Andrew’s Police Treatment Centre

Harlow Carr Boarding Kennels Trophy - Commercial and Retail Properties
Raworths Solicitors

Harrogate Civic Society Shield - My Garden
Charles Garner

Harrogate Chamber of Trade Trophy - Communal Grounds
Low Harrogate Bowling Club

Harrogate Borough Council Yorkshire Rose Shield - Pubs and Restaurants
The Winter Gardens

Hotels and Guesthouses’ Association Trophy 
The White Hart Hotel

Hammond Mann Trophy
Rossett School

Edgar Scholey Trophy - Best Allotments' Site
Northern Outfall 

Harrogate Borough Council Trophy - Best Allotment Plot
Fiona Walker, Northern Outfall

Christine Dean Cup
Richard Taylor Primary School

McCrindle Trophy
Rogers’ Almshouses

Awards afternoon.jpg
bottom of page