© 2019 Harrogate in Bloom

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Harrogate in Bloom Annual Garden/Floral Competitions


Throughout the year we run a number of competitions to recognise endeavour and to encourage more involvement. Our competitions are really popular with children and nursing homes but we would love to see more entries from businesses and residents. Many people quietly work away to make their gardens flourish or business premises look attractive and we want to acknowledge that.

There’s four categories this year: schools/my garden for private residences/business shop windows/business gardens, communal or shared gardens.


As usual, all entrants were invited to our awards afternoon which took place on Sunday 6 October 2019 in the glorious surroundings of St Wilfrid’s Church.  The awards were  followed by tea and home baked cakes in the Church Hall.  Thank you to all the volunteers who helped on the day and also to our awards sponsor Harrogate Bus Company.


HIB judges were bowled over by the entry from Richard Taylor C of E Primary School.  Not only did they win their category they were also awarded the President’s discretionary award.  The children made a brilliant presentation to the Britain in Bloom Judges as part of our judging tour and we asked them to repeat it during our own awards afternoon.  They also entertained us with some beautiful singing - frankly they stole the show.


Congratulations to all winners:


Residential Community - Bewick Grange

Care Homes - Hampden House

Commercial - Raworths LLP

My Garden - Patricia Andrew

Communal Grounds and Christine Dean Cup - Woodlands Community Garden

Pubs/Restaurants - The Winter Garden

Hotels - Arden House

School Garden maintained by pupils and President’s Trophy -  Richard Taylor 

Mayor’s Trophy - Mary Mann

Harrogate in Bloom Henson Tankard - Arrow Self Drive

Harrogate in Bloom Shield - The Japanese Garden

McCrindle Trophy - Yorkshire Soap Company

Crowther Memorial Trophy - Harrogate & District Allotment Federation

Edgar Scholey Shield - North Outfall 

Harrogate Council Trophy - Fiona Walker