top of page

Press release issued on Behalf of Harrogate in Bloom

Date: 24 September 2017


Blooming' marvellous winners at our awards afternoon


One hundred gardeners, environmentalists and community stalwarts joined Harrogate Mayor, Councillor Anne Jones and Harrogate and Knaresborough's Andrew Jones, for Harrogate in Bloom's annual awards afternoon on Sunday, 24 September in the sumptuous surroundings of the Garden Room of the Old Swan Hotel. 

Throughout  the year Harrogate in Bloom organise a number of competitions to recognise endeavour and to encourage more people to garden, care for the environment or support a local community's activities.

Pam Grant, President of Harrogate in Bloom, says this year was extra special.  She added: "We wanted to pull out all the stops because Harrogate is one of just seven towns in the country to be chosen to enter the elite category of Champion of Champions in the 2017 RHS Britain in Bloom awards.  Harrogate certainly rose to the challenge.

"We were judged on 1 August and it was fantastic to be able to show  the judges the popularity of our competitions.  As part of the judging criteria we have to demonstrate how the community gets involved and how we encourage that across all age groups and sectors.

"Last year our children's colouring and design a garden competition had 600 entries.  This year we had over 800 which was brilliant.  Our Residential Homes competition is also very well supported and this year we held a Flower Festival at St Peter's Church which also included those entries. The theme was 'Sing it with Flowers' and there were some very imaginative displays.

"I would like to thank and congratulate everyone who took part this year.  Harrogate in Bloom is also grateful to our award afternoon sponsors Transdev and the Old Swan Hotel."

The RHS Britain in Bloom results will be announced on 27 October in Llandudno.


Harrogate in Bloom 2017 award winners:

Betty's Trophy - Residential Community
Swan Court


Crowther Memorial Trophy - Care Homes 
St Andrew's Police Treatment Centre

Harlow Carr Boarding Kennels Trophy - Commercial and Retail Properties
Victoria Shopping Centre


Harrogate Chamber of Trade Trophy - Communal Grounds
Low Harrogate Bowling Club


Harrogate Civic Society Cup - My Garden
Bernie and Maureen Poulter


Harrogate Borough Council Yorkshire Rose Shield - Pubs and Restaurants
Wetherspoons Winter Garden


Hotels and Guesthouse Association Trophy - Hotels and Guesthouses
Grafton Boutique B&B


Young at Heart Trophy - Residential Homes 
Heath Lodge

Stanley Hines Memorial Trophy - Residential Homes (Dementia)
Apley Grange


Edgar Scholey Trophy - Best Allotments' Site
North Outfall


Harrogate Borough Council Trophy - Best Allotment Plot
Fiona Walker, North Outfall


Harrogate in Bloom - President's Trophy
Rossett School


Christine Dean Cup
Brackenfield School


Hammond Mann Trophy
Springboard - Harrogate Homeless Project

Harrogate in Bloom Henson Tankard
Christine Catterall and David Gelder


Harrogate in Bloom Shield 
Woodlands Church Community Garden


McCrindle Trophy - People's Choice Residential Homes
Hampden House 

Mayor's Award
Lynne Mee

The Mayor of Borough of Harrogate joined winners of ths year's Harrogate in Bloom awards
President of Harrogate in Bloom Pam Grant presents her President's award to Mark Fenton, Jo Clark, Chris Butler and Chloe Webber of Rossett School
Members of Woodlands Community Garden with their award
bottom of page